No Content Available by the Young Film Consultants
No Content Available by the Young Film Consultants
Death of Distance
0:00
-9:18

Death of Distance

Devolution, Race, Class, Sex and Gender

Hello! How are you doing?

This is an audio recording of the newsletter “Death of Distance: Devolution, Race, Class, Sex and Gender” written for the BFI FAN Young Consultants newsletter “No Content Available”. My name is Yasmin Begum, and I recorded the piece after having written this piece following conversations with Moira McVean, Yvonne Connikie and others. I’m a film programmer, writer, and creative practitioner based in my hometown of Cardiff, Wales. I am a BFI FAN Young Consultant, and I also work as a Creative Producer working with young people at Ty Pawb in Wrexham, Wales. I’m really interested in themes of colonialism, feminism, decolonialism, film, curation, creative engagement, film, philosophy, programming, identity, the Welsh language, and BAME cultural production in Wales and beyond.

I am grateful for the contributions of Moira McVean, Hana Lewis and others at BFI FAN Young Consultants for their time and energy in producing and editing this piece. Diolch yn fawr iawn. I can be contacted on @punkistani93 on Twitter, or via email on yasminrbegum@gmail.com if you fancy a chat on film exhibition, if you have any questions on this piece, or if you just fancy becoming pen-pals.

0 Comments
No Content Available by the Young Film Consultants
No Content Available by the Young Film Consultants
We're a group of young people who think how independent cinemas around the UK can be a little bit more interesting or exciting for younger audiences
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Yasmin